THE AUSTRALIAN INTERNATIONAL SCREEN FORUM NEW YORK 2021 VIRTUAL PROGRAM

March 21-26, 2021

2021 program

SUNDAY, MARCH 21

 

6:00pm EDT (9:00am AEDT)

Opening Night Introductions and Welcome

Opening Night Film The Dry and Q&A with Eric Bana and Robert Connolly

 

Moderator: Andrew Warne

Screening available on the Eventive​ platform 


MONDAY, MARCH 22

 

Conference Day 1

3:30 - 4:00pm EDT (6:30 - 7:00am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 

 

4:00 - 4:45pm EDT (7:00am - 7:45am AEDT)

Screen Talks
In Conversation with Basil Iwanyk, Producer and Founder, Thunder Road Pictures

Moderator: Michael Kelleher

4:45 - 5:00pm EDT (7:45 - 8:00am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 

 

5:00 - 5:45pm EDT (8:00 - 8:45am AEDT)

Screen Composers
In Conversation with three international screen composers. Topics for discussion could include music and nature, composing for the story of other composers, and conveying internalised emotions via scoring.

Moderator: David Hirschfelder (Composer, Shine, The Dressmaker, Australia, Strictly Ballroom
 

Panelists: Caitlin Yeo (Composer, Playing with Sharks), Marcelo Zarvos (Composer, Penguin Bloom), Stefan Gregory (The Dig

5:45 - 6:00pm EDT (8:45 - 9:00am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 

 

6:00 - 6:45pm EDT (9:00 - 9:45am AEDT)

Excellence in Casting
A spotlight discussion on the creative process and craft of casting for Television and Film, looking at the originality and impact casting directors can have on a project.

Moderator: Julie Hutchinson, Casting Director & Executive


Panelists: Rebecca Gushin (Casting Associate / Director, Here and Now, Billions, Dickenson), Cindy Tolan (Casting Director, If Beale Street Could Talk, Westside Story, Straight Outta Compton, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), Rick Pagano (Casting Director, The Blacklist, Hotel Rwanda, X-Men: The Last Stand), Jenny Jue, (Casting Director, Inglorious Bastards, Okja, Snowpiercer, The Social Dilemma)

 

6:45 - 8:00pm EDT (9:45 - 11:00am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge


TUESDAY MARCH 23

Conference Day 2
 

3:30 - 4:00pm EDT (6:30 - 7:00am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 


4:00 - 4:45pm EDT (7:00 - 7:45am AEDT)

Music Panel from the Creators of Bee Gees: How Can You Mend A Broken Heart. Presented by Gallagher Insurance

An in-depth discussion with director Frank Marshall and producers Nigel Sinclair and Jeanne Elfant Festa about their hit HBO music documentary on the Bee Gees.

 

Moderator: Debbie Kruger 

 

Panelists: Frank Marshall (Director), Nigel Sinclair (Producer), Jeanne Elfant Festa (Producer)

4:45 - 5:30pm EDT (7:45 - 8:30am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 

 

5:30 - 6:15pm EDT (8:30 - 9:15am AEDT)

Adaptations: Literary to Screen: Presented by Gallagher Insurance
Literary Scouts and Agents takes us through the creative process and techniques to adapting material from books to film and television.

Moderator: Jeff Sharp, Executive Director, The Gotham Film & Media Institute

Panelists: Haley Hamilton (Executive Director of Literary Scouting, FOX Television), Mary Pender (Literary Agent, UTA), Megan Reid (VP of Development, FX)

 

6:15 - 6:30pm EDT (9:15 - 9:30am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 

6:30 - 7:15pm EDT (9:30 - 10:15am AEDT)

Female-Led Production Companies: Presented by NYWIFT
Women in Screen panel focuses on the diverse production companies and innovative business structures, stories and leadership that female producers have brought to their companies and films.

Moderator: Jess Mills, Film Marketing & Distribution Consultant, Founder, OuiOui Marketing 

Panelists: Victoria Hill (Fibonacci Films), Anna McLeish and Sarah Shaw (Carver Films) 


7:15 - 7:30pm EDT (10:15 - 10:30am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 


7:30 - 8:15pm EDT (10:30 - 11:15am AEDT)

Screen Talks 
In Conversation with Elizabeth Haggard, VP, Narrative Film at Participant Media

 

Moderator: Jenny Cooney

8:15 - 9:00pm EDT (11:15 - 12:00pm AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge

WEDNESDAY MARCH 24

 

Conference Day 3
 

4:00 - 4:30pm EDT (7:00 - 7:30am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 


4:30 - 5:15pm EDT (7:30 - 8:15am AEDT)

Adaptations: Podcast to Screen 
Podcasts are quickly becoming a source material for screen adaptations. This panel will include podcast producers and filmmakers who have successfully adapted podcasts to series with a closer look of an adaption and the creative process to adapting the audio medium to a visual story.

 

Moderator: Amelia Chappelow (Executive Producer, Audio Consultant)

 

Panelists: Clare Rawlinson (Podcast Producer and Journalist), Richard Finlayson (Director, Wooden Horse), Sandra Yee Ling (VP of Production at Q Code Media)

 

5:15 - 6:30pm EDT (8:15 - 9:30am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 

 

6:30 - 7:15pm EDT (9:30am - 10:15am AEDT)

Screen Talks
Producer Per Saari of Blossom Films in Conversation

 

Moderator: Jenny Cooney

7:15 - 7:30pm EDT (10:15 - 10:30am AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge 

 

7:30 - 8:15pm EDT (10:30 - 11:15am AEDT)

Screen Talks
In Conversation with Director of Shadow in the Cloud Roseanne Liang

 

Moderator: Rachael Fung

8:15 - 9:00pm EDT (11:15 - 12:00pm AEDT)

Industry delegates welcome in Screen Forum Networking Lounge

 

THURSDAY MARCH 25

5:30 - 6:00pm EDT (8:30 - 9:00am AEDT)

40th Anniversary Gallipoli Tribute Reel

Screening available on the Eventive platform

 

6:00 - 7:00pm EDT (9:00 - 10:00am AEDT)

Screen Talks
In Conversation with Mel Gibson

Moderator: Debbie Kruger

Screening available on the Eventive platform

 

7:00pm EDT (10:00am AEDT)

Gallipoli Restoration Screening: Presented by the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia

Screening available on the Eventive platform 

 

FRIDAY MARCH 26 

 

Closing Night Program

6:00 - 7:30pm EDT (9:00 - 10:30am AEDT)

Closing Night screening of Where Are You Now, Richard Linklater? and Q&A with Richard Linklater. Presented in Partnership with the Austin Film Society


Moderator: Kitty Green

Screening available on the Eventive​ platform 

 

8:00 - 9:45pm EDT (11:00 - 12:45pm AEDT)

Documentary Showcase, Playing with Sharks and Q&A with director Sally Aitken, subject Valerie Taylor and producer Bettina Dalton


Moderator: Rita Walsh

Screening available on the Eventive platform 

PLATINUM PARTNERS

Chris and Francesca Beale Foundation Logo
ScreenAustralia_RGB.png

GOLD PARTNERS

Australian-Consulate-General-New-York.pn

SILVER PARTNERS

AUSFILM-LOGO-TEAL_RGB.png
logo-afs-social-media.png

SCREEN SCHOLARSHIP PARTNER

American Australian Association Logo

SUPPORTING PARTNERS

SW_Mono_Landscape.png
NYWIFT_FULL_LOGO_RGB.jpg
tac_open-1.png
ReelAbilities.jpg
2880px-National_Film_and_Sound_Archive_l
CSA GoldArtboard 1.jpg